In Cahoots

On September 2nd I went to the Parsonage Gardens to take down the old sign, which had become a little rain-smudged…

the old sign

the old sign

..and to put up a new one

newsign_lores2

the new sign

(With hindsight, I don’t know why I bothered.  The first one was clearly better, in a smudgy sort of way).

But on approaching the Magnolia Tree I stopped short.

The ground beneath its branches was covered in a soft pink cloud

a soft pink cloud

a soft pink cloud

Puzzled, I glanced up at the Magnolia tree as it stood there, humming a jaunty little tune and looking rather pleased with itself.

But then I cottoned on.

“Ha!” said I.  “Well done, Magnolia, you nearly had me there.  But you didn’t drop this lot.  This stuff comes from the Smoke Tree!”

The Magnolia said nothing; but ceased its humming and looked away – a little crestfallen, I thought.

I did think it was funny, though, how the wind had blown the pink cloud from the Smoke Tree, around the Acer in between and deposited it so convincingly here, beneath my beloved Magnolia.

It seems the wind and the trees are playful, in cahoots, trying to trick me.

One thought on “In Cahoots

  1. Pingback: AWOL | A Leopard in Didsbury

Leave a Reply

